Toyota take pole for 6 Hours of Nürburgring

After a hard-fought qualifying session, Jose-Maria Lopez and Kamui Kobayashi combined to give Toyota pole position in the No.7 Toyota ahead of the 6 Hours of Nürburgring.

The pair’s combined average lap time of 1m38.118s was enough to claim pole ahead of the Le Mans winning No.2 Porsche Team by 0.154s. The No.1 Porsche will line up third on the grid followed by the No.8 Toyota Gazoo racer.

The No.26 G-Drive Racing car piloted by Ben Hanley and Pierre Thiriet initially took pole position in the LMP2 class however, post-qualifying it was discovered that the team’s Oreca 07 was non-compliant with LMP2 Technical Regulations. As a result, the team’s qualifying times have been deleted and the car will start the race at the back of the grid.

This means that the No.38 Jackie Chan DC Racing driven by Oliver Jarvis and Thomas Laurent will start on pole in LMP2 for the first time in 2017.

In the LMGTE Pro category, Michael Christensen and Kevin Estre took pole position in their Porsche 911, the first Porsche GT pole since Bahrain 2013. Marco Sorensen and Nicki Thiim will start second for Aston Martin ahead of the other Porsche GT driven by Frederic Makowiecki and Richard Lietz.

In LMGTE Am, Pedro Lamy and Paul Dalla Lana ensured that Aston Martin maintained its 100% pole record this season. Matteo Cairoli and Christian Ried will start just behind them in the Dempsey-Proton Porsche.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s