OFFICIAL: Williams F1 Racing 2018 Driver Announcement

Williams F1 Racing have announced that Canadian Lance Stroll and former Renault test driver Sergey Sirotkin will drive for the team throughout the 2018 Formula One season.

Speculation surrounded the team over whether Robert Kubica was in line to return to make his return to the sport to replace the outgoing Felipé Massa. However, Williams elected instead for the youth of Sirotkin who finished third in the GP2 Series in 2015 and 2016.

“He’s an extremely committed young man and very, very intense around his ambition to be a successful Formula One driver,” said Williams’ Chief Technical Officer Paddy Lowe.

“To say that I am happy and proud to join such a famous team like Williams is an understatement,” said Sirotkin of his new appointment. “It took a huge amount of work to get where I am, and I’m really happy and thankful to everyone involved. The result of our combined efforts has helped me achieve my dream, and rest assured the team can rely on me to deliver the best.”

Sirotkin’s team-mate Lance Stroll says that he is looking to build on experience earned during his rookie season and also backed Williams’ appointment of the 22-year-old Russian.

“First of all I would like to welcome Sergey to Williams and I am looking forward to having him as my team-mate,” he said. “I know Sergey and I’m sure we will very quickly form a close working relationship. I really enjoyed my rookie season with the team, and there were a number of memorable highlights, on which I’ll look to build on in the coming season. I’m looking forward to Barcelona, and driving the new FW41 for the first time.”

Despite missing out on a full-time drive, Robert Kubica was instead announced as Williams’ Reserve and Development driver for the 2018 season.

“Obviously the Robert Kubica story is one that people have taken a really keen interest in and I’m really happy to say that Robert will be continuing his journey in Formula One as our Development and Reserve driver in 2018,” said Deputy Team Principal Claire Williams.

“I’m extremely happy to be joining the Williams team as its offical Reserve and Development driver this season,” said 2008 Canadian Grand Prix winner Kubica. “I feel in the best physical shape that I have ever been, but it has taken a lot of work to get where I am now, so I’d like to thank Williams for the opportunities they have given me so far, and for putting their faith in me with this appointment.”

The 2018 Formula One season will get underway with the Australian Grand Prix on March 25.

Leave a comment